

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Tuesday, February 04, 2025

Contact:

Cathy Essick
Marketing Coordinator
(319) 862-1100
cessick@jaeasterniowa.org

JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT OF EASTERN IOWA SEEKS NOMINATIONS FOR 31ST ANNUAL CEDAR VALLEY BUSINESS HALL OF FAME

(Waterloo, IA) – Junior Achievement of Eastern Iowa (JAEI) is now accepting nominations for the **31st Annual Cedar Valley Business Hall of Fame**, set to take place on Thursday, October 30, 2025. This prestigious event celebrates outstanding business leaders who have made significant contributions to the free enterprise system and shaped the economic and social landscape of Eastern Iowa through their vision, integrity, and leadership.

Nominations are submitted by members of the community and reviewed by an independent selection committee. Inductees will be honored at a black-tie gala, where their achievements will be highlighted through professionally produced video biographies. This elegant evening will celebrate business leaders who have not only achieved professional success but have also contributed to making the Cedar Valley a thriving place to live and work.

Each year, JAEI inducts three laureates and one entrepreneur who exemplify the following qualities:

- **Impact** A lasting influence on their industry or organization.
- Integrity Ethical leadership and business practices.
- **Community Commitment** Dedication to improving Eastern Iowa.
- **Leadership** Serving as exemplary role models.
- **Entrepreneurial Spirit** Founding, growing, or significantly advancing a business with substantial community impact.

Nominees must have lived and worked in Eastern Iowa (Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Delaware, Grundy, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn counties) and meet the outlined qualifications. Husband-and-wife teams will be considered only if they are equal business partners.

How to Submit a Nomination

To nominate a business leader, answer five key questions in **2,000 characters or less**—this is the only information reviewed by the Selection Committee.

• Laureate Nomination Form: https://forms.gle/mJ9aVAgLeZa6i2VN7

Entrepreneur Nomination Form: https://forms.gle/qiLEHiV2QLYjZVJB9

Nomination Deadline: Friday, March 28, 2025

Past Business Hall of Fame Laureates: Thomas J. Poe, R. Hovey Brom, Dr. Jane E. Hasek, Dennis Clark, Cork Peterson, Stacey Bentley, Kris Hansen, Mike Mallaro, W. Louis Beecher, Carl Bluedorn, T. Wayne Davis, R.J. McElroy, Harold Brock, Robert Buckmaster, Hary Slife, Richard H. Young, Dr. Russell S. Gerard II, Joan Poe, J.W. Maucker, Nicholas Sulentic, H.D. "Ike" Leighty, Frederick W. Mast, Helen Petersen-Drier, Harley A. Waldon, William H. Hinson, Bob McCoy, Roger P. Oleson, Herbert E. Williams, Robert P. Bradford, Robert J. Molinaro, LeRoy H. Redfern, Charles W. Shirey, Edward J. Gallagher, Jr., John Deery, Sr., Robert McKinstry, Lowell J. Walker, Max. E. Guernsey, Dr. Ross D. Christensen, Larry Kilgore, Dr. Robert Koob, Mark W. Baldwin, Gary and Becky Bertch, Robert W. Giertz, Louis W. Walker, David H. Buck, Donna L. Nelson, Jim Skarlis, Robert A. Young, Sr., Tunis E. Den Hartog, Camille S. Hogan, Clarence Schukei, Parke H. Behn, Ralph E. Emerson, Marvin & Helen Schumacher, Rick Young, Robert E. Fahr, Patrick Pinkston, Stephen W. Thorpe, James Mudd, Sr., Milton Roth, Jack & Irv Warren, Bob Hellman, Sr., Gene Leonhart, Van G. Miller, Hope C. Martin & Faye Dorothy Martin Anderson, Robert Petersen, Jean Trainor, Rose Lorenz, Tom Penaluna, Dee Vandeventer, Jim Mudd, II, David Peters, Steve Tscherter, Kevin R. Harberts, James Krieg, James E. Walsh Jr., Curtis & Betty Hollis, Sharon Juon, Josef M. Vich, Geoffrey C. Grimes, David L. Takes James B. Waterbury, Bob Beach, Robert M. Heaton, Stephen R. Jackson, David A. Braton, Mark J. Hanawalt, Daniel R. Waters, Pamela K. Delagardelle, John R. Martin, Thomas M. Porth, Robert J. Greenwood, Dr. James Kenyon, Milton J. Dakovich, Jim D. & Jodi L. Landau, and Jim Lind.

Past Young Entrepreneurs: Emsad & Edita Begic, ReShonda Young, Andrew Fuchtman, Bryan Earnest, Jim Coloff, Darin Beck, Jack Nooren, Bill Bradford, W. David LeCompte, Brooks J. Martin, Jamie Wilson, Amy Wienands, Brent Dahlstrom, Chris Fereday, Natalie Brown, Wade Arnold, Andy Van Fleet, Adam C. Lewis, Marc J. Reifenrath, Cory W. Schmidt, Shaun Linderbaum, David Morgan, and Kyle Dehmlow.

About Junior Achievement of Eastern Iowa (JAEI)

Junior Achievement of Eastern Iowa envisions a world in which young people have the skillset and mindset to build thriving communities. By advocating for experiential learning in every school in the world, and by nurturing partnerships with schools and other like-minded organizations, we envision a world in which no young person is left behind.

JAEI is dedicated to inspiring and preparing young people to succeed in the global economy through work readiness, entrepreneurship, and financial literacy educational programs. JAEI's programs are delivered by 1,399 local volunteers that can provide students with real-world examples of how obstacles can be overcome, and success achieved. JAEI provides its programs to 41,680 students throughout Eastern lowa which includes Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Fayette, Delaware, Grundy, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn, and Tama counties. For more information, visit www.JAEasternlowa.org.